SEJEONG – Plant: Kpop Album Review

SEJEONG released her first EP titled Plant on March 17th. I didn’t even know that she was releasing an EP. I just saw it yesterday on my new releases column in Spotify. I am so bad at keeping track of comebacks/debuts.🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️

I already have a profile for SEJEONG on this blog, it can be accessed with this link 👉 SEJEONG – Tunnel: Music Review

(Please note – this is a real-time review, meaning I am typing down my exact thoughts while listening to each song.)

Reaction to Title track/Official MV:

  • Thankfully the music video has English captions.
  • This seems to be a ballad.
  • I have said this a million times in my reviews, but I live for any song that includes soft keyboard playing in its instrumental.
  • “Plant” already has most of the elements I enjoy.
  • Sejeong seems to be adding soft, breathy notes at the end of each sentence she sings. That is quite intriguing, I like it.
  • Her voice is smooth and compelling.
  • So the keyboard got a bit louder, and I think a cello or a violin came in. I love the progression so far. It’s soothing.
  • From the second verse, I can hear some very low classical guitar strumming. Everything is coming together nicely.
  • I don’t really understand what is happening in the music video, but the cinematography for it is stunning.
  • Sejeong is gorgeous. The lighting and colours of the video are doing her justice.
  • I love how she draws her ending notes to showcase vocal strength instead of hitting a big note.
  • I am enjoying her vocal technique.
  • Okay, I really love the instrumental progression. It is well produced.
  • The note she sang at the 3:00 minute mark of the music video is breathtaking and flawless.
  • I got goosebumps. Sejeong never fails to impress me.
  • I love the inclusion of chirping birds and water droplets into the instrumental. It added more tranquillity.
  • “Plant” is such a beautiful piece, I am glad that I checked this out.
  • What I got from the music video’s story is that she was trying to grow something for a long time but kept on failing. She continued to wait, and finally, the plant bloomed.
  • So I guess Sejeong is singing about having hope through uncertain times.

Album Review: img_4228Plant has a total of five songs. Here is the highlight medley –

  1. Plant – I am going to enjoy this for a while before moving on to the other tracks. This is my new bedtime song. It makes me feel like I’m floating on clouds.
  2. hopes for tomorrow – This also seems to be a ballad. It has that classical slow piano entry. I love Sejeong’s soft tone. It sounds like she is switching between falsetto and breathy tones, so beautiful. Once again, with the cello or violin, I’m not sure of which. But I love the inclusion of classical instruments because they bring things to a very serene space. I love how they paused the instrumental before her climax note. That few seconds of silence made her note sound more prominent. Oooh, I love the vocal layering that comes in after that big note, so lovely. Sejeong nailed this ballad. She is such a talented artist.
  3. SKYLINE – This is more upbeat, and I love the melody. I think they used chimes to start this song. Chimes are one of the most enchanting instruments ever. That aside, this is the first song on the album that actively includes drums. I can hear some vocal layering in this as well. I love the chorus, such a beautiful melody. So for this one, she used her breathy tone as a background vocal to compliment the chorus. Nice. WOW, the high note at the end is pure eargasm. Also, I love the group singing at the end, I wonder who and who sang that section with her.
  4. Swim Away – Another upbeat track and this time, we have a groovy guitar entry. I love how bouncy the instrumental for this one is. It sounds very summerish. I can hear this song being played at a beach party, which I might not get to attend due to the current pandemic. Anyways, the thing that stands out the most in “Swim Away” is the guitar. This song is too short. I have to replay it before moving on.
  5. In My Dream –  It looks like we are back to the slow jams. Instead of a soft piano entry, we are getting a classical guitar throughout. A lot of focus has been placed on her voice for this track, and I like that. She sounds lovely, and it almost feels like she singing right in front of me. Once again, I am getting that tranquil vibe. I found another bedtime song, guys. Wow, they just took things to another level with the incorporation of a cello into the mix. I legit got chills.

Final Thoughts:

I have a love/hate relationship with EPs. They are short, so writing a review is quick and easy. Unfortunately, when the EP is this good, I always crave for more. Plant has a fantastic set of songs, and I truly enjoyed every one. I can’t pick my favourites now because every track actually impressed me.

SEJEONG did a great job👏👏👏👏👏👏. My rating for this Plant is 10/10.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s